Lok Sabha Elections 2019 LIVE: BJP, TMC workers clash in West Bengal’s Chopra


New Delhi, Apr 18: After peaceful polling for the first few hours, West Bengal remained tense with locals blocking National Highway-31 in protest after they were allegedly prevented from voting at Digirpar polling booth in Chopra in Islampur.

Phase 2 polling off to a slow start

In a separate violent incident in West Bengal’s Islampur, CPM MP Mohammad Salim’s car was attacked with bricks during polling. Salim, who was also injured in the attack, blamed the attack on “Trinamool goons”.

Meanwhile, Voting for the second phase of Lok Sabha elections 2019 has begun across 95 parliamentary constituencies spread across 12 states and one Union Territories (UTs).

Follow all the Live updates from second phase polling here:

Read More

The polling is currently underway in 38 seats in Tamil Nadu, 14 seats in Karnataka, 10 in Maharashtra, eight in Uttar Pradesh, five each in Assam, Bihar and Odisha, three each in Chhattisgarh and West Bengal, two in Jammu and Kashmir and one seat in Manipur and Puducherry.

Important leaders whose fate would be decided are Union ministers Jual Oram, Sadananda Gowda and Pon Radhakrishnan, BJP’s Hema Malini, former prime minister H D Deve Gowda, Congress leaders Verappa Moily, Raj Babbar and Tariq Anwar, National Conference president Farooq Abdullah, and DMK’s Dayanidhi Maran, A Raja and Kanimozhi.

The Lok Sabha polls are being held in seven-phases for 543 seats on April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19, and counting will be on May 23.

Read more about Lok Sabha elections here:



Facebook Comments

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More